The Serra de Tramuntana Mountains is the main mountain range in the Balearic Islands. It occupies a third of the territory of the island of Majorca and in it offers to the visitor exceptional beautiful rugged mountains and fertile valleys.

It is located in the northwest of the island and its name comes from the north wind, known under the name of Tramuntana. Its origins go back to the Secundary Era, and in these mountains are located the two large reservoirs of Majorca: Cuber and Gorg Blau.

The Serra de Tramuntana, due to its great natural and environmental value, was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 2011. Its highest peak is the Puig Major, of 1445 meters, and the Puig de Massanella, of 1348 meters, although there are more than 54 peaks all the way. The Serra de Tramuntana Mountains runs for a total of 19 municipalities, from Andratx to Pollensa, and it offers to the tourist caves, streams, ponds, ravines and valleys of cultivation. As for vegetation, oak occupies the lower part of the mountains, although there are pine forests and olive groves also. In terms of fauna, highlighting the presence of  the ‘’voltor negre’’ (black vulture), the ‘’ferreret’’( Balearic midwife toad)  and the goat. Along the coastal there are buildings of great historical and cultural value, such as towers and lighthouses



Leave a Reply